Peace Messenger

with peace medal from un copy

Dadi Prakashmani, representing the Brahma Kumaris, receives the Peace Messenger Award from former United Nations Secretary General, Javier Perez de Cuellar and Mrs Perez de Cuellar. The ceremony took place at the United Nations on the International Day of Peace in September 1987.

The Brahma Kumaris received 7 Peace Messenger Awards for their significant contribution in the observance to the United Nations International Year of Peace

What is a Peace Messenger?

The program for the International Year of Peace, adopted by the General Assembly in 1985, provides that “a symbolic emblem entitled “Peace Messenger” will be awarded by the Secretary-General.” The emblem took the form of a certificate signed by the Secretary-General. The Peace Messenger Certificate was awarded on the basis of information received
and evaluated by the UN Secretariat from non-governmental organizations, governments, and UN Information Centers.

Countries where the Brahma Kumaris were recommended for this Award

Listed below are the 7 recipients of the Peace Messenger Award:
• Brahma Kumaris World Spiritual University, Mt. Abu, India
• Brahma Kumaris World Spiritual University from Kenya, Australia, Brazil, United Kingdom, Philippines, and Trinidad and Tobago.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS